Back to Vietnam

When I purchased Italeri’s 1/72 B-57B Canberra, I really had no plans to build it. I found it in the clearance room at Valpo Pet and Hobby and figured, why not? I paid $9.00 , got it home and put it up with the hundreds of other kits awaiting my attention. As each of my builds would start and finish, the B-57B kept sticking out to me. Finally I decided to pursue it. It is definitely not a traditional looking aircraft which is what attracted me to it. This was quite a nice kit to build. As I stated in a previous blog, I built a lot of this while on vacation in Florida. The only real issue was some decent gaps where the wings meet the fuselage. It also could have used a little more detail in the cockpit. Other than that, we have a winner. I chose to build this Canberra in a Vietnam era camo paint scheme. The weapons selection included was a little dull for me so I decided to go with four of Hasegawa’s napalm bombs. I also used rockets and 500 lb. bombs that were included with the kit. I weathered it using pastels and Testor’s Aluminum for the paint chips. I really wanted to give this kit a well used look. Overall, I can’t complain about this model. Italeri put out a nice B-57B Canberra.

20130212-062237.jpg

20130212-062252.jpg

25 thoughts on “Back to Vietnam

  1. A good post on an interesting build. I believe I made one of these back in the 1970s, as a teenager. As far as I can recall mine was a plain silver finish, as that and grey were common cold war era colours I believe. Yours is much better, in the Vietnam camo finish, and with wing load napalm bombs!

    Like

  2. Dude, I have built that kit, and mine turned out nowhere nearly as nicely has this!

    Fantastic work! You’re motivating me to dig that B-57G Tropic Moon III I have out of my stash, now!

    How did you build it without re-etching the panel lines? That’s what scares me the most about this kit!

    Like

  3. I’m sure I could search your blog and find these answers BUT: how many models have you made and roughly how long does it take to put one together?

    Like

    • I have built about eighty kits in the past two and a half years. Build time is not quite exact. It depends on how much time I have during the weeks. Some I can get done in a week or so, others take much longer. It also depends on the detail.

      Like

  4. I saw my first Canberra flying at Goodwood earlier this year, an amazing aircaft that could fly higher than any other when it was introduced. It could fly over Russia in theCold war as there were missilesw hich could climb high enough. By the way yours is still one of the most fascinating blogs anywhere. Keep up the good work. Happy 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the compliment. I never would have imagined that so many people would enjoy reading about building models. The Canberra is an interesting looking aircraft. I enjoyed building mine and I plan on building another soon. I don’t think I have ever seen one fly though. Happy New Year to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

