I’m Officially Back

Okay. Maybe it was a little presumptuous to say that I was back thirteen days ago. It definitely was. My intentions were solid, but the time and effort had not quite caught up with me. In my defense, I was fighting an illness during that stretch and also adding a key component to my “model room”. My very awesome wife bought me a desk to work at so now all my excuses are worthless because I finally have a private space to freely work on all of my builds. So I spent a day or so setting it up to my specifications. There will be some tweaking but it’s working for now.


The desk was huge for morale, but the real breakthrough came last night when I cracked open a bottle of paint for the first time in a few months. I decided that I didn’t like how the four kits were being built so I changed up the flow. For some reason beyond my knowledge, I originally planned on the canopies being installed after final paint. Now, that would be fine if any of them were in the “open” position. I’m sure I had a reason for that decision, but I can’t think of what it could be. Nevertheless, I masked all four canopies yesterday afternoon and installed two of them. The Stuka and Spitfire have their canopies affixed and NOW they are cleared for final paint. If you can remember that far back, you will recall that the Spitfire’s underside has been painted already so I am ahead of the game a little on that front.

The Babs and Avenger needed a little bit more work on their interiors with some added paint. The Babs is good to go now but the Avenger needs just a tiny bit more detail work done. I have to go to work in a few hours so I’m thinking that will have to wait until the morning when I get home.


 

18 thoughts on “I’m Officially Back

  1. Ooh, I’m very jealous of your workspace!! I have to make do with working on the dining room table which means constant packing away and getting stuff out again. I’ve got three 1/48 Land Rovers plus a 1/48 Lynx helicopter on the go at the moment and my progress has slowed. I tend to do model making in winter months and work on the 1:1 vehicles in summer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear it. Do what you enjoy! Definitely stick your head out and see your family once in a while. I finally sewed up my sails on my #sailboatmodel the other day. Looking good. My wife and I travel around a lot on weekends looking through yard sales and flea markets so i am not as focused as you are.
    Do you sell yours when you are done or do you have a collection you can post a picture of?
    Keep up the good work!
    Bob the Ship Model Man

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most definitely. I try to work on my kits at night or when everyone is occupied with something else.
      I have sold one and given a few away but they mainly remain with me.
      On my sidebar is a gallery of all of my builds over the last few years. Enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

