Harder Than I Thought

This move had officially hit the one week mark this past Friday and I am still left a little shell shocked from the busy week that ensued. It’s been days since I even touched any of my four current builds and I’m getting a little nervous that they will end up sitting for way longer than expected. 

Now I will say that the house is somewhat operating under normal circumstances. We are in a completely new town of about 2,000 total residents. To us, that’s not a lot by any means. We are moving from a city with about 37,000 residents and only a thirty minute drive from Chicago. Needless to say, we are in a quiet town. That was a main part of the attraction. So we really have a lot to get used to on top of setting up the house. 

My honey-do list is shrinking and I’m hoping to get the model situation sorted out immediately. My genius plan this afternoon was to throw another kit in the fray to hopefully spark a workbench movement of sorts. Maybe Hasegawa’s 1/72 F/A-18C Hornet can flip the switch. It’s been over two years since my last F-18 build and I’ve been considering this build for a few months now.The final goal for this kit will be a current load-out with no fancy paint job. The “Chippy Ho” scheme is okay but I’m looking for a down and dirty Hornet. I may even pull out Italeri’s flight deck that I couldn’t use with the Skywarrior build a few months ago. I’ll build it ready to go handle some terrorists. 

I’m excited again to get building and that’s a great sign. It’s not that I didn’t want to build before, I was just flat out exhausted. Quite a bit of work remains as far as my model room goes but I’ve never had a dedicated work area before so that won’t stop me. What will stop me eventually is not having my airbrush set up. I’m halfway there and after a little clean up in the garage, I’ll be back in business. Build on!

2 thoughts on “Harder Than I Thought

Leave a Reply

