New Recruits

While I procrastinate on final paint with my current builds, I figured that now would be a good time to start pulling my next builds from my inventory. My airbrush remains “soaking” so I will be spending more time getting the B-25 shored up as well as getting these new builds prepped for an easy transition. I don’t know what it is about final paint that makes me drag my feet so much. Life’s mysteries I guess.

So after four out the five current builds being the jet variety, I opted for an all WWII era set. Another reason for this is because I will be making my move into my new house in a few weeks. Smaller planes with less parts to potentially misplace. I was working on an SR-71 during my last move and I thought I was going to have a heart attack shuffling it around. I can easily fit all four of the new builds in a bin and not worry this time.

First up is from Arri Models. It’s been a while since I have worked on one from them and I am happy to start on their 1/72 Ki-15-I. The kit looks pretty good out of the box. I am still on the fence about the paint scheme but leaning towards a camouflage variant. The all grey looks pretty good too. I have plenty of time to make that choice though. 

   
 Next is Academy’s 1/72 Ju87G-2 Stuka. I’ve been asked a few times when I will be building a Stuka and the answer is right now. The last Stuka (Italeri’s kit) went very well so I am excited to give the Academy kit a whirl. I need to search for decals on this build as I will be depicting a North African campaign Stuka. Once again, I have plenty of time to sort all of that out.   
 My third pick is Academy’s 1/72 TBF-1 Avenger. I love this aircraft! This same kit adorned my workbench not too long ago in the all sea blue scheme. I am happy to give it another try with a different paint scheme. I am not exactly sure as to the markings right now but some research should clear things up. 

   
The final pick is Hasegawa’s 1/72 Spitfire Mk.VIII. This will be my first Spitfire with the clipped wings. I am still unsure if I like the look but I am going to build it anyway. It just doesn’t look right to me. Anyway, I am building this one straight out of the box. It’s always nice to add another Spitfire to the shelf. This looks like a fun build. 

   

12 thoughts on “New Recruits

Leave a Reply

