Building The Stash

To follow up my recent post about “the stash”, I thought I could elaborate a little more into the decision process into building as well as maintaining an active model inventory. So as I have touched on before, the stash is a vital part of the hobby. No stash equals no immediate future builds. It may be very hard to believe but there was a time where I didn’t have a stash to work with. When I first came back to the hobby, I would order five or so kits at a time and build them all. Once those were finished, I would just start the process all over again. Now there certainly isn’t anything wrong that approach. I was still building models and enjoying it. To get to the point, I cycled through my stash on a regular basis and didn’t give myself enough time to create my stash. As my skills developed, I took more time for each build thus giving more time for kits to get added to my new forming stash. 

Growing my stash proved to be difficult at first but became increasingly easier over time. The usual Christmas and birthday presents would begin to add up and I was also buying more kits that I would not even try in the beginning. A lot of the growth in my stash was a direct result in not airbrushing for the first year or so. I would strictly use rattle cans. If you are in the hobby, you know that not every color needed is available in a spray can. That limited what I could build unless I painted them in the incorrect colors. So needles to say, the door opened up completely when I finally started to utilize my airbrush. The influx of kits that I had already owned that were what I referenced as staple kits were already in place to give me the go ahead to branch out even more. With the vastly important skill of airbrushing now in my toolbox, any kit was fair game.

After establishing the stash and then beginning the growth process of it, all that is left is the maintaining of it. This is actually the best part. The search for certain kits and deals has become an integral part in developing a fine tuned stash. By continually researching specific criteria, it keeps me knowledgeable with prices and availability of hundreds of kits. I am always looking to add kits so I like to know a general number that is fair to obtain a kit for. Also by constantly staying on the hunt, I am aware of what’s in the market if the need ever arises for a specific kit. It may seem like a whole lot of wasted time but I have learned to streamline my efforts and can finish a search in a matter of a few minutes now. 

So, what kind of new kit do I look to add on a regular basis? The real answer is all of them but it does go a little deeper. Right now, I have a main focus on acquiring a few staple airplanes that I keep an eye out for and will grab them when the price is fair. My top staple plane that I need more of right now are P-47’s. The ultimate goal would be to add about three more to the stash. After the staple aircraft, I like to look for wish list kits such as a C-2 Greyhound or a P-61 Black Widow. It’s an ongoing loop here at Amateur Airplanes.

The demand for new kits to my stash has become ever increasing the past couple of years. Every kit that I start is one less kit in the stash. In the last three years, I have built about one hundred and fifty kits. That’s quite a bit to replace. The numbers fluctuate from month to month. There is no number that I need in order to be happy. As long as there’s a distinct variety of aircraft, all is right at the workbench. So here are a few of the newly acquired kits over the past few months. 

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
     
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 

Leave a Reply

