Let’s Clear Some Kits Out

Whew! It has been quite a rough week. Anything model related has become a distant reality as of late. My weekend started off hopeful until I ended up having to double at work on Saturday. Now I don’t mind doubles too much but it was my most hated one, 6am-10pm. Sunday was basically a recovery day and back to work at 10pm for another double (10pm-1pm) and yet another double today. Three in four days isn’t a record for me but I am very thankful that it is over. The next two days are wide open for some hardcore model building. Well, painting to be exact.

The Wildcat and Harrier were officially changed to paint status with their bellies being painted flat white. They now join the Fw-190, Polikarpov, and Macchi for their place at the airbrush. We are currently getting a nice snowstorm as I type so who knows what tomorrow will reveal. If the temperature rises to over 30 degrees, I will give it a brave try. 

 Building may not have been getting addressed the past few days but a new kit has been thrown into the fray. I was looking through my built kits and my eyes stopped on an F-16 from a few years ago. It’s been about two years since I made one so I felt the urge to get one out. Kind of. I really didn’t know where I wanted to go with this so I pondered on it and remembered about a kit that I bought on close out from Tower Hobbies. It was actually just used to get over $50.00 so I could get free shipping. So I grabbed Hasegawa’s 1/72 Mitsubishi F-2A. Not technically an F-16 but close enough. There are distinct differences but the look very much resembles an F-16. It’s a joint project from Lockheed Martin and Mitsubishi for the J.A.S.D.F. 

   
The kit looks fantastic so far. Very well made with the rare find to a Hasegawa kit in the ordinance. Country specific ordinance to be more thorough. No need to supplement with an ordinance set. The assembly is different in the fuselage which becomes a nice new challenge to receive. I will stick with the 60th anniversary scheme. I think the blues and the markings set it off real well. I’m up to four now and I think it’s time to cut myself off. The workbench is getting pretty full between all the new kits and the ones awaiting paint. Hopefully this week will bring piles of change with it.

12 thoughts on “Let’s Clear Some Kits Out

Leave a Reply

