Moving On

Even with my struggles to make my way out to the airbrush, I’m always in a progressive frame of mind. I hope I don’t bury myself with halfway finished kits awaiting paint but the wings are officially on the Wildcat and Harrier so I will be foregoing with the next two builds. 

The only criteria involved with my decision was to build post WWII. There are quite a few piston driven aircraft filling up my shelf so I need to balance out a bit. My first choice has been a finalist too many times to count here at my workbench. I do this quite often and eventually they make there way in. So first up is Hasegawa’s 1/72 F9F-8 Cougar. The kit looks great so far. I can’t see any issues with flashing or problem areas so I’m excited to get started. 

   
The second kit will be one of my newest editions to my stash in Revell’s 1/72 Canberra PR.9. The original plan was to get this kit built sometime this year, I just didn’t expect it to be so soon. I was leaning towards the American B-57G Canberra but I have already built a “B” version so I thought it would be prudent to go with the British variant. I think I made the right choice. The only problem I see is the starkness to the kit. I’m going to have to figure out a way to add some details to the exterior. I’ll be looking for a boarding ladder for sure and maybe some new landing gear. Other than that, this should be a fun kit. 

 
 

10 thoughts on “Moving On

      • I’d really love to do aircraft of more eras, including jets. And some of those WW1 Wingnuts kits are so beautiful I feel a very strong pull.
        So just as soon as I finish my several hundred WW2 machines…
        Oh and I’ll need to appeal my wife’s “if you buy one more model I’ll kill you” judgement.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m with you on that. I’ve been wanting to try the Roden kits in 1/72. My wife is actually pretty good about my insanity so far. She certainly doesn’t get it but she loves me for going with it.

        Like

  1. The first kit I ever made was a Cougar, back in the late 50s. The plastic was a very dark blue-purple and I’m fairly sure it was an American kit, rather than an Airfix. I’m not sure if it had swept wings but I am sure that you’ll make a better job of it than I did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If it had the straight wings then it was probably a Panther. I’m hoping the newer tooling will fair better. The kit looks great so far. I haven’t really gotten too deep yet but I think it should go well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

