Good News, Bad News

It’s been a pretty eventful day at the workbench resulting in great strides forward and one step back. I will start with the good news first. 

The MiG-29, Skyraider, and Voodoo are finished with final paint. I made my way out to the airbrush this morning to finish all three of them. The three all were sprayed with dark green making for an easy session. The only hinderance was the cold temperature. I can deal with that of course. So it’s decals and weathering left to complete. Those will all be addressed tomorrow sometime and hopefully I can start final assembly by the weekend. 

   
Other good news is getting to sit down with my son and build his M1A1 Abrams Snap-Tite kit that he received for Christmas. The kit is from Revell and I am quite impressed. I am kind of upset that the two Revell kits that I am currently building don’t contain the same quality as a Snap-Tite but those are the brakes I guess. That aside, I gave him the option of building it straight from the box or take our time to paint and detail it. As any six year old boy would choose, he built it as is. I cut and trimmed the parts from the sprues and he followed the directions and built a nice tank. The first, by the way, to be featured here at Amateur Airplanes. He’s happy and that makes me happy. Good job Jack! 

    
 So now it’s bad news time. I actually don’t really consider it bad news, just unfortunate, unhappy news. It’s an easy fix. The Bronco received its last color today and it just looks awful now. The base color that was applied yesterday was light tan as per the instructions. I was a little skeptical at first but I figured it would all come together when the dark tan was applied. I was wrong. It looks like I rubbed some self-tanner on. My second problem is that I am all out of the color that I believe to be the correct one so it’ll be a few days before I can get it repainted. At least it’s just a cosmetic issue and not a major disaster. 

 

10 thoughts on “Good News, Bad News

  1. I was thinking it would be cool if you took one (or more) of your finished aircraft and superimposed it over the terrain it is camouflaged like to give the view an idea of how hard or easy it would be to spot the aircraft from above. For instance….one camouflaged like a forest superimposed over a google earth photo of a forest. Or maybe a photograph of one camouflaged like the desert taken from above with a beach or sand below. Just a thought. New paint job looks good on this one.
    —Mark—

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see Jr. is taking the armor route. 😉

    My first build waaaaaay back in 1981 was the Walker Bulldog, followed my the M48 Patton. Of coures back then the models did’nt cost 50.00 ea. I think I paid 15.00.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I bought my nephew that Snap Tite kit this Xmas and helped him build it. The main gun is a bit wobbly in his, but he’s quite happy with it, as it allows him to easily remove the gun and put the tank back in its box.

    He had so much fun he took it apart and put it back together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

