Too Little Time

Well it’s not looking like I will be able to add all of my current builds to the 2015 list. I think I can get at least one more added. Maybe two. I trekked out to the airbrush this morning and started all of the camouflage on the MiG-29, Skyraider, Voodoo, and Bronco. I will finish painting all four tomorrow leaving the 31st my final day to get four kits finished. Not likely. I’m just happy to get out there and get some paint moving. 

 The B-26 remains in the filling/sanding stage. I added what I hope to be the last of the filler last night and I will get it sanded and primed tonight. Hopefully I can get the wings attached and start advancing at a faster pace. The wings haven’t taken the dry fit test yet so I am unsure of what I am looking at with any gap issues at the wing roots. Given the current quality so far, I fully expect a challenge.

On that same note, I started a new kit that is mirroring the B-26 build. I maybe foolishly chose Revell’s Lancaster Mark I kit. After the B-24 and now the B-26, I have enjoyed building the bigger bombers of WWII. I have been wanting to get a Lancaster build in so I figured now was as good a time as any. It was either this one or a B-17D. The B-17 will make its appearance soon after this one is completed. 

 The kit is a pig. Plain and very simple! The same fit issues are presenting themselves as with the B-26 and I just have to go with it now. The fuselage halves and engine nacelles are together and I was able to get the fuselage sanded and primed last night. Basically the entire length of the upper seam needs filling. I will get that filled tonight and start sanding the engine nacelles. The wings for this bird are horrendous. I’m not sure if it’s the kit itself or if there has been some warping in its past. It’s an older kit so that is a distinct possibility. I will work with it the best I can but it doesn’t look like fun. Needless to say, my work is cut out for me in 2016. I don’t think I will start the year off with six builds at once. Maybe it’s a good thing that I started the Lancaster early. 

10 thoughts on “Too Little Time

Leave a Reply

