Thank You, Orville and Wilbur

On this day in 1903, Orville and Wilbur Wright altered history forever with their first flight. So to them I say thank you for my hobby. Granted, they are not responsible for plastic models. They are, however, ultimately the quintessential pioneers of aviation whose concepts have lived on for over a century. That 120 foot flight opened the door to the aircraft that I love and build today. 

I wish I could say that I am well into final paint and soon to be finished with at least one build. That is just not in the cards at the moment. My work schedule has been a little busy with a good amount of overtime. I’m currently sitting at 52 hours this week with another 19 to go. That certainly isn’t a great recipe for hobby success. With all that said, I’m still looking pretty decent. 

The B-26 hasn’t been touched in about a week. I need to do some minor filling and sanding tonight. The wings have passed filling and sanding so I will get them attached tonight as well. The hard part is just about over so the rest of the build should go pretty well. 

The Voodoo, Skyraider, and Fulcrum are masked and ready to get going onto paint. I finished the Skywarrior’s underside last night and need to get it masked tonight. The Bronco sits awaiting paint making five out of the six builds ready for paint. If I can get out to the airbrush this weekend I can get a great start. If not, I have the B-26 to keep me busy. 

17 thoughts on “Thank You, Orville and Wilbur

  1. It’s so hard to find time this time of year. I have a P-38 with less than 5 hours of work to go, that I’m sure won’t be finished until next year.
    And I just knew when I didn’t get as far as I wanted to last weekend that that was it. It’s just not going to happen any time soon now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just happened to have read David McCullough’s recent book on the Wright brothers – it is excellent! It is amazing how ‘ordinary’ they were in many ways: not wealthy, not overly educated (at least formally), not socially connected. But they had just the right influences in their life and the balance of discipline and daring to achieve their breakthrough in aviation. It’s fascinating history. Good luck with your builds!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for liking “Return.” I enjoyed learning that this day is the day of Orville and Wilbur Wright’s first plane flight. I can’t believe it happened over 100 years ago! I hope you will have more time for your model plane builds now that the holidays are over. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

