A-10A Thunderbolt II

Wrapping up the Warthog Project is a soothing accomplishment. I was worried the paint wouldn’t come out looking right and I am glad to say that I was completely wrong for thinking that. After the overspray dilemma, the hard edges concerned me. To me, they look pretty decent all finished. The weathering is what really stands out to me. It’s enough without being too much. I don’t want to say that this is my favorite out of the four recent A-10 builds but the snow scheme looks sharp on there. 

So the build itself was typical Academy. Given the fact that this was my tenth A-10 build in five years, I’m pretty seasoned with the kits. The chin issue remains an across the board problem that I haven’t found a solution for as of yet. I’ll get it under control eventually. Other than that, I can’t complain. The finished kit looks great to me. I’m happy to add it to the shelf. 

   
      

   

  

10 thoughts on “A-10A Thunderbolt II

  1. I agree, the weathering on this one is perfect. Looks like it’s sitting on the flight line. I like this color scheme too. It looks mean and ready to go out and do nasty things to the bad guys. Terrific work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Today seems like a good day to start. Once you get your airbrush you’ll be all set. I would start with a cheap kit to get your bearings and as you build more and more, you’ll continue to learn and every kit will be better than the last. I’ve been at it for five years now and I can tell you firsthand that my first batch of kits were not pretty. But I had fun doing them. I’m also still learning the ins and outs of the hobby. You’ll be hooked once you get into it. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask away.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

