Douglas F4D-1 Skyray

For being the last kit to get started, I think I did well to get caught up and finish ahead of the other six builds. I won’t take all the credit for it though. Tamiya put out a quality kit in the Skyray. I was very happy with the detail and ease of the overall build. There were no huge issues to overcome making for an enjoyable task. The stock decals worked well. They were a little difficult to release from the backing but easy enough afterward.  

From start to finish, I was happy throughout the entire process. This was one of those gems that keeps you going through the more frustrating builds. 

 
 

 

  

   

8 thoughts on “Douglas F4D-1 Skyray

  1. Oh, the memories (of a much earlier era of planes) … and, especially, the smell of the clear cement and its sticky attachment to the fingers.
    It was all a dim memory until coming across this.
    Makes me wish for some grandkids as an excuse to continue a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting. I never looked much at the Skyray. I just assumed from the F-4D that it was a variant of the F-4 Phantom. I love early jets, although my faves are probably props from WWII. Have you built at F-105 Thunderchief?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

