No Time For Downtime

The remaining A-10A, Nell, and Jake builds have passed the airbrushing stage and now they will sit idle overnight to cure. It feels great to have them painted and ready to apply decals. I should be able to move forward on final assembly in a few days. With those three out of commission for the time being, I stole a little time with the Su-22. By little, I literally mean “little”. In about a three or four minute span, I sanded the wing pylons and re-filled them. Baby steps for now. The good news is that after the stores are done, painting should commence. 

With my workbench dormant for a few hours, I took the opportunity to choose the next set of builds. I think I made some interesting picks this time around. I wanted to get some piston driven aircraft in the mix. I may be on the cusp of another WWII adventure. 

So my first choice is a kit that started from a book. A lot of my builds germinate this way. I love to read books about a pilots experience during their war-time duty. About three years ago, I read Lt. Col. Michael Fanzaks book called “A Nightmare’s Prayer: A Marine Harrier Pilot’s War in Afghanistan”. After concluding the book, I took to the internet to search for a kit. It was a good news bad news kind of deal. I found the kit, but I found that it was out of production. I sucked it up and went on to build an ordinary Harrier. Months went by and I noticed that Hasegawa re-issued the kit. Going with my fathers motto of “get it when you see it”, I ordered it. Many more months went by and now here we are. This build will be Hasegawa’s 1/72 AV-8B Harrier II Plus. It will be depicted as VMA-513 squadron (Flying Nightmares). I dug through my spares to get a good selection of ordinance to go with it. Everyone loves a Harrier, right?

Next up is another one of Hasegawa’s dual kits. I was going to only build one of them but I thought why not add the other? I picked a 1/72 Moraine Saoinier M.S. 406 and Dewoitine D.520. You might remember these two from my fifty in fifty poll a few months back. Now seems like a good time to work on them.

Another long time coming kit is Airfix’s 1/72 Hawker Typhoon 1b. I bought some decals for it quite a while ago and the plans kept getting pushed back to a later date. This one will be in a desert scheme.

The fifth build will be Airfix’s Boulton Paul Defiant NF.1. I really haven’t known too much about this airplane so I am excited to get some research done to learn more about it. The paint scheme is leaning towards a night fighter but it’s not set in stone. I do love the British camouflage so that may win out.

The last, for now, kit will be Fujimi’s 1/72 Dassault Alpha Jet E. Again, I am unsure of where I want to go as far as markings and paint. All I know is that I wasnt to get one built. I will worry more about that decision in a few weeks. 

So the next six have been chosen. I have begun the usual beginning steps to them and I will likely take it slow until my current kits are completed in the next few days. It’s looking as if my workbench will be crowded yet again.

 

 

 

 

  

8 thoughts on “No Time For Downtime

  1. Watch the fitting of the front fuselage on the harriers, worth looking up on the net, I can’t remember what I put about it in My blog but I will have a look for you. I’ll be interested to see how it turns out for you, I wasn’t that impressed with the kit to be honest

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

