Making The Best Of The Situation 

Another evening of chickening out from the cold and it’s looking like I will be skunked in the month of February. With three days remaining in the month, the outlook doesn’t look too promising.

So if I can’t get to the airbrush, I might as well keep on building. I started working on my next four builds last night. I always enjoy the new beginnings of a build. These four did not disappoint me.

First up is Mister Craft’s 1/72 Su-22M4R. This one is an interesting kit. There are no alignment pegs on any of the parts which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. The plastic is thick with good recessed panel lines. I will get some painting done tonight and work on the little bits some more.

Next is a 1/72 Hobby Boss N/AW A-10A Thunderbolt II. This kit looks great so far. There isn’t too much to work with so it should have a quick flow to it.

The third build is Academy’s1/72 A-10A Thunderbolt II. I know I have been doing a lot of “double” builds lately but I had to do this one. If you don’t already know, the A-10 is my favorite airplane. I’ve been waiting to fit one in and with the N/AW A-10 being quite bare, a loaded up A-10 provides the perfect balance. This kit is a nice one. I have built it a few times prior to this build and don’t remember any issues. The paint scheme will be the Lizard Camouflage scheme. The decals will be none other than the Flying Tigers. The overall goal is to represent a Desert Storm A-10. I am quite enthused about this build.

Lastly, I thought I would add a little controversy to this set. I chose to go with Academy’s 1/72 F-35A Lightning II. Now, I really do like the F-35. As far as being a suitable replacement for my beloved A-10, I disagree. Nevertheless, I will build this kit without any grudges. Academy did a nice job with this one. There are some fantastic details to it. I can’t wait to really get deep into this one.

I’m sure I will have to pause with these four when I can finally get to the airbrush. In the meantime I will keep on building.

12 thoughts on “Making The Best Of The Situation 

Leave a Reply

