TBM-3 Avenger

Motivated by the progress of the Zero builds, I finished my TBM-3 Avenger. Another great Academy kit. The instructions could have been a bit more involved, but I was able to get the job done. I’m always a stickler for an open canopy as well. Aside from that, I really can’t give an honest complaint.
Assembly went well. Joining the fuselage halves was tricky with all the interior parts that need to join with the opposite side. After you accomplish that, it’s calm waters with the rest.
I chose to go with the late WWII paint scheme of Sea Blue. I also ditched the provided decals and used a set of Micro Scale decals. This was a great kit. I enjoyed building all the way with this one.

20140419-154510.jpg

20140419-154502.jpg

20140419-154516.jpg

20140419-154523.jpg

10 thoughts on “TBM-3 Avenger

  1. These builds are incredible. I have never seen such attention to detail during builds. Of course, I’ve seen many models on display – such at the Chino Planes of Fame Museum where all great WWII warbirds fly – but never the process. There is a beautifully restored Avenger that flies at the museum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

