Next on the Workbench

I began construction on my two new builds a few days ago spending a good couple hours on the prep work. Today was the first time since then that I was able to accomplish anything worthwhile.
On the workbench this week are two kits from Academy. In my personal opinion, Academy is the best all around manufacturer out there. For quality and the price, you get a great kit. I’ve chosen to build an F6F-3 Hellcat along with an F-8E Crusader. Both kits are typical of Academy. Finely detailed moulds with great recessed panel lines. The Hellcat cockpit is the best you can get without buying an aftermarket detail set. I’ve made great progress on this one. The fuselage halves are together and sanded. I put a coat of primer on this evening. The Crusader is equally as detailed. The landing gear bays along with the cockpit have wonderful detail. Another plus is all the ordinance provided. These two kits offer great potential.

20131211-193205.jpg

18 thoughts on “Next on the Workbench

  1. I miss making model airplanes. I haven’t since I was a kid. It’s been more than 20 years. Seeing these makes me want to do it again. I look forward to seeing both of these planes.

    Like

  2. I will do a review on some of my carrier-based model kits. One of them is a Hellcat from Otaki I built some 20 years ago. You know you’re the one who got me going on this. You never forget your first love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

