F/A-18 Hornet

The F/A-18 is finally complete and I am quite content with the finished product. Hasegawa, once again, put out a superb kit.
Assembly went in the typical fashion with no hang-ups to report. I must say, I was apprehensive with the painting. I could have used decals for the blue on the spine and vertical stabilizers, but I have terrible luck with decals that have to conform around curves. I try to use paint everywhere possible instead of a decal. I left the vertical stabilizers on the sprue which made it extremely easier to work with. I sprayed both with Model Masters Blue Angel Blue. Next, I masked the spine off and shot the rest of the plane with Model Masters Dark Ghost Gray. After a day of drying, I applied the decals. Another day of letting the decals set and I began weathering and final assembly. I sealed everything up with Testor’s Flat Clear and done.
This was a great build. No stress to it at all. My apprehensions on the blue paint were admonished quickly and I learned a few things from it.

20131026-095257.jpg

20131026-095310.jpg

20131026-095322.jpg

16 thoughts on “F/A-18 Hornet

  1. I agree with the others; that is a beautiful model. An idea crossed my mind: If military aircraft are painted with a glossy finish, perhaps airbrushing the high-pressure leading edges with flat or semi-gloss paint could give it an added touch of realism. Just a thought.

    Like

  2. I graduated from the same High School and am friends with Captain Keith Hoskins, the first African-American and first former Blue Angel to command NAS, Pensicola, “The Cradle of Naval Aviation.” He was appointed in 2013. Even with all his achievements, the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of Keith is what a great guy! He would love this model! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

