It’s All in the Details

When it comes to detail, I try to put as much as I can to pull off an “as real as possible” appearance. I am thrilled to report that all three of my kits are ready for the spray booth. Now is the time when I finish all the last minute touches to really bring my planes to life.
Simple things like the Super Etenard’s speed brakes are great parts to show some detail. All I used was a pin vice with a small drill bit to bore out the holes. Smooth out the edges and you have a whole new look. It may not be much, but it looks great when finished.
I also added some detail to the A-10’s rear landing gear struts. I took some wire that I bought from Menard’s and made the brake lines. I plan on adding some more to it but you get the point. It doesn’t take much to really make your planes stand out.

20130905-162525.jpg

20130905-162535.jpg

5 thoughts on “It’s All in the Details

  1. I always feel that no matter how the model turns out I always am happy with the details I have added. Even when not perfect there is a sense of having experimented and a surer idea of how to get it right next time. On a side note I must look for things to drill out on the next build! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

