Slow and Steady

Sometimes it is difficult to find the motivation to continue through a build. I am finding less and less time to finish my Emhar F3H-2N Demon. With my work schedule, it seems as though this project will never be completed. Lately I have been on twelve and sixteen hour shifts that don’t afford the time needed to build as I wish. I have been spending five minutes here and there with little to show for my efforts.
I am a little disappointed with this kit. This is my first Emhar build and I feel a little cheated. For the price of the kit, I expected more detail and craftsmanship. Luckily I was able to pick up a set of Airwaves photo etched parts on ebay to fill the void. The fuselage went together nicely, although the panel lines didn’t match up along the spine. I sanded them down and rescribed them. The cockpit is finished and ready to install. And that’s about as far as I have been for the past week. It’s frustrating when you want to progress but just can’t seem to find the time to complete the build. I guess that’s life and responsibility.

20130314-142453.jpg

22 thoughts on “Slow and Steady

  1. I dread to think about only having a few minutes here and there. It becomes more of a chore when it’s like that. My brother’s having the same issue. He has a Lancaster sat on his dining room table for over a year now. I keep telling him that he should stop being so social! haha

    Anyway, keep up the good work. 🙂

    Like

  2. life sometimes gets in the way of what we really want to do…as long as the desire is still there you will finish…may take longer than you think it should but better well done than rushed…

    Like

  3. Thanks for the like on my blog. I appreciate it!

    You have some nice looking models. I used to do a lot of those $3-$5 car models when I was a kid in the 60s. Those were some great kits back in those days, and it looks like these airplane kits are high quality. Last model car kit I saw was pretty cheap quality.

    Like

  4. I imagine it’s hard to relax into the right frame of mind after working such long hours. But thank goodness for work, right? In the long run, the custom detail and your careful craftsmanship will make this one special.

    Like

    • It’s easy to relax because all i want to do is lay down when I get home. The motivation is the problem. You’re right about having a job. If I didn’t have it, I couldn’t afford my hobby. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. Hi. Thanks for the ‘like’ on my blog, about a very different hobby – film photography and classic cameras. I know what you mean about time and finding time to take and process pictures as well as write about it is a real problem. I used to build aeroplane models around 50-65 years ago. The one I remember best was a balsa and tissue Avro Vulcan, powered by a ‘Jetex’ motor (a long pennies savings campaign to cover what was for me an enormous expenditure). The Vulcan came to a spectacular end, crashing in flames – what a pity no cam-corders then!

    Like

  6. Sometimes the motivation comes if you can just sit back for a bit and find inspiration in all that you have already accomplished. Think about all those wonderful models you’ve already created for us to enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

