Tools of the Trade

When you think of the most important tools to constructing a model, I suppose one would suggest that a hobby knife, glue, or other various elements needed would rate at the top of the list. Of course they do. I have come to find that one of my most essential tools is a block of wood with about a hundred holes in it.
When I first began to build again, I found that I needed something that could hold various parts after I painted them. After some brainstorming (scrounging in my garage), I found a block of wood that resided at my residence before I did. I quickly and haphazardly drilled some holes in it. This became the idea of my, for lack of a better name, parts holder. I used my “prototype” for about two years before I decided it was time for an upgraded version.
I made the three mile trip to my local Menard’s and went to their scrap section. I found a 2 1/2′ X 1′ piece for $0.63. I took it home and proceeded to cut the piece in half. Next, I measured one inch increments along the length and width of each board. Connect the dots and you have a 1″ X 1″ grid. For the holes, I used a 1/4″ drill bit. Before drilling, I used duct tape to mark the drill bit to provide equal depth while not drilling completely through. I alternated drilling every other cross section to provide adequate space. After the drilling was complete, it was ready for the trial run. The first one was used on my B-57 build. The one pictured is helping my Emhar F3H-2 Demon come to fruition. They provide generous room to be able to work on multiple facets of my builds at the same time. Also, by building two, I can now comfortably build two kits simultaneously without mixing up parts.

20130227-141955.jpg

30 thoughts on “Tools of the Trade

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my posts. It looks like you have a lot of fun with your airplanes! Your solution for holding parts reminds me of my mother’s creativity after she had a stroke and couldn’t use her right hand. She found ways to do her needlepoint, including threading a needle, using simple objects like a cork to hold the needle. Sometimes it’s a simple thing that can solve a problem.

    Like

  2. Very cool. Just like the stories of most…I too constructed models as a young lad. But my favorites were Estes model rockets. Loved them things! Thanks for bringing back a memory.

    Like

  3. Interesting blog – I have never built model airplanes but it’s amazing to me that the same material used for models is also used to build fabric covered airplanes still flying today. Glue and fabric. I spent many years rebuilding fabric covered airplanes – mainly aerobatic as in the Pitts Special, Extra 200 and 300, Citabria, Decathlon but also some world war 1 and 2. Have to agree with you that the Warthog is one special airplane. Ugly but totally functional.

    Thanks for visiting our blog because it gave me the chance to visit yours.

    Joey

    Like

  4. Cool blog and excellent models, the detail is superb. I used to be into Tamiyas Armor models as a kid, now I have no room or time to do them again. Kind of a bummer..:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

