Like father, like son.

How do we choose our hobbies? How does a hobby like building models start? I can’t remember how old I was when I began to enjoy putting together model airplanes, but I do remember an F-14 that my dad built for me. That poor kit didn’t have a chance with me. Things do have a way of coming full circle. I now have a son and I have built a model for him.
My family and I recently took a trip to Disney World. During a little free time, my son and I took a trip to the Valiant Air Command Warbird Museum in Titusville. While it is on the smaller side of museums, it is well worth visiting. Another nice aspect is that the planes are not segregated from you. You are able to reach out and touch history. To my son, this was very important. He was able to grab onto missiles and wheels, all the cool stuff a two year old boy could handle. At one point, I tried to sit him in the intake of an A-7 for a neat photo op. He wasn’t having any part of that. We entered the Vietnam hangar and browsed the ten or so aircraft in the hangar. Then along came the S2F Tracker. Not a spectacular airplane, but the access door was open. I quickly picked him up and let him fly. Never had I given any thought of building a Tracker until that day. I immediately went on eBay and purchased Hasegawa’s 1/72 Japanese version. I added a set of Super Scale International decals to make it as accurate as possible. Aside from the wings fighting me, there were no major issues. It’s thrilling to build, but it’s better to build the one’s you’ve seen up close.
Airplanes have always fascinated me, thanks to my Dad. I can already see the amazement in my son.

20120712-225343.jpg

20120712-225428.jpg

11 thoughts on “Like father, like son.

  1. I loved building kits when I was younger but over the last 25 years or so I have moved away from that and concentrated on Wargaming instead – love the figures, the painting, the research, the history, the beer with a couple of mates over the battlefield while I watch the dice feng shui turn away from me then back to me … love it all really.

    My father, however, was a model railroader. Funnily, he got into model railroading because of me. When I was about 5 I had the third of my eye operations (this would be circa 1959) and it was a traumatic experience for me, the argumentative five-year old. In any case, after my operation I was particularly upset and my father was the only person with enough sense to ask the five-year old what the problem was. A new surgical procedure appeared in Australia after that conversation when the issue was passed on to the surgeon.

    Dad, however, also asked me what I wanted. As any good five-year of the time would, I responded with, “a train set”. Dad built a very small layout with rather rudimentary terrain for me, I played with it twice then moved on to other things (plastic kits amongst them a few years later). Dad however was hooked and for the next 45 years or so was an avid model railroader.

    So, sometimes it is not the kid following in the dad’s footsteps but rather the dad following in the kid’s footsteps 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it’s a mix… We’re 60% nature and 40% nurture. When I was 8, I made interviews and other “acts” with me tape recorder. My son takes my partner’s cell phone and makes inane movies. Regardless of where hobbies really come from, it’s a good thing to share them with your kid! You have a nice site. Thanks for the like on an entry of mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

