The one that started it all.

After tweny years out of the hobby, I am two years back in. My wife will tell you that I have become a hoarder of airplane models, but I will tell you that I am a collector. I have no problem buying two, three, or six of the same kit. With so many different versions and paint schemes, you have to. This is the kit that started my obsession with building again. It is an Accurate Miniatures 1/72 Predator. I picked this kit up at my local Hobby Lobby on clearance. I think I paid around $7.00 for it. Great price. My dad and I took a trip to the Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio, and they have a Predator on display. I shot some pictures and this was my template. I used Model Masters gloss white for the fuselage and used generic markings for the decals. After I completed it, I discovered that they make an update of this model with Hellfire missles. I guess that I will have to re-buy this one. Overall, this was a good welcome back to the hobby. The kit went together quite well and I don’t remember too many difficulties (I “misplaced” a piece or two). Since I completed this kit, I have built about fifty more kits. I have found that every kit you build, you get a little bit smarter for the next build. Currently I am building two kits. The first one is Italeri’s 1/72 B-52G. The second, I just started this morning is Revell’s 1/72 Su-27 Flanker. I don’t build too many foreign planes and thus the reason for this blog. I told my wife that I should start this to help people like me trying to find the right colors, details, and anything important to make our models look as authentic as we can. This is my first blog, so here we go…..

18 thoughts on “The one that started it all.

  1. Thx for the like on my blog. So … I went to have a look at your blog. Fun! All this plane modelling. I decided to look up you first blog post. And this is it. Nicely done, and great stuff to write a blog post on every model you finish. It builds up a nice collection with some extra comments to boot.

    Well done, and happy moddeling!

    — Max

    Like

  2. Fascinating! One of my favorite childhood family trips was to Dayton, OH to see the USAF Museum.

    Thank you for checking out my blog. I love flying when the skies are smooth! No crazy 8’s for me!

    Like

  3. This looks like a really neat blog. My father would have loved it! He was a test pilot for North American Aviation back in the 50s and had a long career in aviation. He passed away in 1994.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

